Our Lady of

Sacraments of the Catholic Church


First Communion


Sacrament of Reconciliation

Sacrament of Marriage

Sacrament of the Sick



Sacrament of Reconciliation

What is Reconciliation?

Reconciliation is a Sacrament instituted by Jesus in his love and mercy to offer sinners forgiveness. At the same time sinners reconcile with the Church because it is also wounded by our sins. Every time we sin, we hurt ourselves, other people and God. In Reconciliation, we acknowledge our sins before God and his Church. We express our sorrow in a meaningful way, receive the forgiveness of Jesus, make reparation for what we have done and resolve to do better in the future.

Reconciliation involves four elements: contrition, confession, penance and absolution.
Contrition – a sincere sorrow for having sinned against God;
Confession – confronting our sins in a profound way to God by speaking aloud of them to the priest, God’s minister;
Penance – a fundamental part of the healing process in which we are called to acts of good to reverse the harm done by our sin; and
Absolution – the priest speaks the words by which “God, the Father of Mercies” reconciles us to himself through the merits of the cross.
Celebrations of Reconciliation

The Sacrament of Reconciliation is also available by appointment. Penitential Services with Individual Confession are held twice annually during the seasons of Advent and Lent.